Iveta Apkalna © Peter Hundert

Sun, 24 Feb 2019 20:00

Iveta Apkalna / State Choir Latvija / Māris Sirmais

Elbphilharmonie Hamburg / Großer Saal

Ticket Prices

€ 68.00 | 57.00 | 41.00 | 20.00 | 10.00

Past Event

Titular organist of the Elbphilharmonie, Iveta Apkalna, and the State Choir Latvija are two of Latvia’s hallmark musical exports. In this concert, they focus the spotlight on the music of their native land at the festival »Lux aeterna«.

Music and especially singing has a long tradition in Latvia. Singing in a group with other people is seen as the epitome of Latvian identity. The Latvian singing festival held every five years with tens of thousands of participants is an event of national importance, and has even made it onto the UNESCO’s World Heritage List. Therefore, it comes as no surprise that the Baltic country has produced a whole number of composers.

Ēriks Ešenvalds, for example, is one of the most sought-after choral composers of our time. His works are performed around the world, from Europe to the USA and Australia. His composition »A Drop in the Ocean«, which depicts the life of Mother Teresa, opens with a mood all mystical and mysterious, gradually intensifying into ecstatic ten-part polyphony.

And while old master Pēteris Vasks has the organ take a solo role in his work »Cantus ad pacem« (Song for Peace), we can look forward to the premiere of his new work for organ and choir, jointly commissioned by the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg and the Stadtcasino Basel.

Iveta Apkalna © Peter Hundert

So, 24. Feb 2019 20:00 Uhr

Iveta Apkalna / Staatschor Latvija / Māris Sirmais

Elbphilharmonie Hamburg / Großer Saal

Preise

€ 68.00 | 57.00 | 41.00 | 20.00 | 10.00

Ausverkauft

Die Titularorganistin der Elbphilharmonie Iveta Apkalna und der Staatschor Latvija gehören zu den musikalischen Aushängeschildern Lettlands. In einem gemeinsamen Konzert im Rahmen des Festivals »Lux aeterna« legen sie einen besonderen Fokus auf die Musik ihre Heimatlands.

Musik und insbesondere Gesang hat in Lettland eine lange Tradition. Gemeinsam zu singen gilt als Inbegriff lettischer Identität. Das alle fünf Jahre stattfindende lettische Sängerfest mit zehntausenden Teilnehmern ist ein Ereignis von nationaler Bedeutung und hat es sogar auf die UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe-Liste geschafft. So verwundert es nicht, dass das Land eine ganze Reihe an Komponisten hervorgebracht hat.

Ēriks Ešenvalds zum Beispiel zählt zu den gefragtesten Chorkomponisten unserer Zeit. Seine Werke werden rund um den Globus aufgeführt, von Europa über die USA bis nach Australien. Mystisch und geheimnisvoll beginnt seine Komposition »A drop in the ocean«, das sich dem Leben Mutter Teresas widmet und sich im weiteren Verlauf in eine ekstatische zehnstimmige Polyphonie steigert.

Und während Altmeister Pēteris Vasks in seinem Werke »Cantus ad pacem« (Gesang für den Frieden) noch die Orgel solo singen lässt, darf man gespannt sein auf die Uraufführung seines neuen Werkes für Orgel und Chor, das die Elbphilharmonie Hamburg und das Stadtcasino Basel gemeinsam in Auftrag gegeben haben.